Goodbye KCR

Goodbye Note

It seems like this time of the year is a bittersweet one for most people my age. Many are graduating, saying goodbye to what they’ve known and stepping into the “real world”. Although I am not graduating just yet, I have experienced my fair share of goodbyes this semester.

As some of you may know, I have been with KCR since January 2012 and I must say, this has surprisingly been one of the best things to happen to me in college.

Looking back, I definitely think KCR was meant to be. I didn’t find it, it found me. One day, I was in the JMS advising office and happened to run into Lincoln Kang, who first told me about KCR. I had no idea that San Diego State even had a radio station. He invited me to come on as a guest on his radio show the following week. After that, I knew I wanted a show of my own.

So, “The Midday Mash-Up” was born. True to its name, I played everything from Britney Spears to Frank Ocean to System of a Down to Kendrick Lamar to Zedd to Boyz II Men. I discussed topics from pop culture and relationships, friendships, family, work and school. I’ve interviewed several artists and heard from my listeners.

About nine months ago, I took up the leadership position as webmaster and social media director. Both have challenged me as a journalist but have also taught me the importance in keeping close ties with an audience and building a respectable brand. I have witnessed a tremendous growth in KCR with new interest from listeners and great enthusiasm from our DJs and staff members.

I think a lot of people don’t realize that we are not driven by money, but by pure passion to do this. I am blessed to work with a group of talented people who are so in love with music and dedicate their time to continue improving the station. I thank everyone who has made my experience at KCR one of my fondest memories and to all the friends I made along the way, I wish you the best of luck. Most of all, thank you to my awesome listeners who have spent their afternoons, study breaks and workout sessions with me. You are just as much a part of me and I am humbled by your dedication to the show over the years.

I will miss speaking to all of you, uniting through music and seeing all the faces of my fellow DJs. As I move forward, I will always remember where it all started: right here with KCR. I will never deny that. KCR has opened doors for me that I never expected, and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Below are some pictures from my last show. Fun times!

Leave a reply

