L.A. Trip – Day One: Dim Sum, Shopping, and LACMA

Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA).Just before the new year hit, my family and I took a little getaway together. We were all on vacation from school and my mom had some time off from work (which is very rare), so it was the perfect opportunity.

Planning was difficult because the trip was kind of short notice, plus with six different people, it’s hard to please everyone. We talked about going to the Grand Canyon, Yosemite Park, and Big Bear to see the snow. After weighing our options, we decided to go with something that was an easier drive and more familiar since my dad hasn’t driven through the snow before. Finally, we decided to go with good old Los Angeles! There was lots to see and lots to do, plus the drive wasn’t so bad.

I know L.A. doesn’t really seem like a vacation for San Diegans like us, but we still had a lot of fun!

The ferris wheel at the Irvine Spectrum. Capital Seafood restaraunt at the Irvine Spectrum. Dim sum from Capital Seafood at the Irvine Spectrum.On the way up to L.A., we spent majority of the day in Irvine. We wanted to eat and shop, so the Irvine Spectrum was our go-to. First, we had lunch at Capital Seafood which is a great dim sum spot that I always find myself returning to whenever I’m in the area.

Shoes at the Irvine Spectrum. Coffee mugs from Sur la Table at the Irvine Spectrum.Cookie cutters from Sur la Table at the Irvine Spectrum.

After lunch, I was on the hunt for some Timberland boots, which I’ve been wanting for a couple of years now. I’ve seen them sold online, but I got a problem with spending before I get it (name that song! ;P).

I didn’t really get anything except for a beanie from Brandy Melville. But look at these cute cookie cutters my mom bought from Sur la Table, which might be my new favorite store. It has so much great stuff and there was a really good sale. She picked out a cookie cutter with each of our initials plus a heart and even a doggy bone for our pets. I love these and can’t wait to use ’em!

Cyra Velasquez posing as a cat in Urban Outfitters at the Irvine Spectrum. Cyra Velasquez posing as a cat in Urban Outfitters at the Irvine Spectrum.So my quest for Timbs was unsuccessful, but at least I got these glorious photos out of the search! LOL. This was so embarrassing and I got stared at, but I don’t blame ’em. Thanks, Urban Outfitters!

Sunset view from the ferris wheel at the Irvine Spectrum.Cyra Velasquez and family riding the ferris wheel at the Irvine Spectrum. Cyra Velasquez and family riding the ferris wheel at the Irvine Spectrum. Cyra Velasquez riding the ferris wheel at the Irvine Spectrum. Cyra Velasquez and family riding the ferris wheel at the Irvine Spectrum.After shopping, my family decided to try something new and ride the ferris wheel at the mall. Some enjoyed it more than others, especially since my brother, Derek, is terrified of heights. That and the pretty sunset view were the best parts! Plus, how cute were my parents?! This picture of them has to be one of my favorites.

The Daiso store in Irvine, California. The makeup at Daiso in Irvine, California. Asian snacks from Daiso in Irvine, California.

Next we went to Daiso, which is an Asian dollar store that carries everything from household items, to beauty supplies, to snacks. Majority of the things cost only $1.50 and there’s sooo much stuff to look through, which can be fun if you have extra time on your hands.

The fried chicken waffle sandwich from Bruxie in Irvine, California. The proscuitto and gruyere waffle sandwich from Bruxie in Irvine, California. Cyra Velasquez at Bruxie in Irvine, California. Alarisse Velasquez at Bruxie in Irvine, California.

In the same plaza as Daiso is Bruxie, a gourmet waffle sandwich spot that I’ve been wanting to try for years! I’ve wanted to try the smoked salmon sandwich, but I decided to get the fried chicken one instead because I was craving chicken and waffles. My brother ordered the prosciutto and gruyere, which was also good. I split my sandwich with my sister and we killed it; it was especially yummy with a little drizzle of agave syrup… mmmmm!

Colorful macarons from Mochilato in Irvine, California.Ice cream filled mochi from Mochilato in Irvine, California. Gelato from Mochilato in Irvine, California. Ice cream filled mochi and gelato from Mochilato in Irvine, California.

For dessert, we headed to Mochilato, which is a cafe that also has desserts like macarons, gelato, and ice cream filled mochi. They have a bunch of different flavors; my favorites were the green tea and hazelnut mochis.

Lights at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA).Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA).

The last stop of the night was the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). You might recognize it fromΒ the movieΒ No Strings AttachedΒ or the endless Facebook/Instagram photos of this place. It literally is just a bunch of lights grouped together, but it was pretty. My mom was the one who asked to see LACMA and she was exceptionally happy. She was swinging on lamps and running through the lights!

Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and family at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA).

It was cool to finally see LACMA in person. We must have spent about an hour taking pictures there, haha!

Cyra Velasquez and a cute little boy at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and a cute little boy at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). Cyra Velasquez and a cute little boy at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA).

I also spotted this little cutie! He and his uncle were playing together next to me and they were really sweet about trying to not interfere in my family’s photos. I took some time to speak with them and couldn’t resist complimenting little man’s style! He’s even wearing the shoes I was looking for all day!

By the end of the night, we were all exhausted and couldn’t wait to get to our hotel in Pasadena. Thanks to my best friend, Ariana, for your suggestions and helping us find a nice place to stay!

Here are more pictures from day one of our trip:

Leave a reply

