The Quintessential Graduation Photoshoot

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

About how many ways can I lean against a wall? How many floors can I awkwardly sit on? Just how long can I smile until my cheeks are sore? Well, you’re about to find out because I wanted to share some photos from my graduation shoot taken earlier this week.

Bring out the butter because it’s about to get a little corny. ;)

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

One of the prettiest places on SDSU’s campus is Scripps Cottage/Park – referred to by students simply as “the turtle pond.” Because this week has been extremely hot in San Diego, my sister and I shot these photos before the sun was getting ready to set. It made for a cool effect, especially in this gorgeous setting. (Insider note: we were trying to be quick because there were dozens of bees!)

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

This was also taken at the pond. You can’t tell, but past all the greenery are actual buildings/classrooms. A lot of people like to come here and just relax, study, or have lunch with friends. And yes, there are real turtles in the pond (and ducks, too).

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

I also really liked my outfit for the shoot. It was put together super last minute, but I love the spring/summer feel and coral/peach with turquoise is one of my favorite color combos. I actually bought this dress months ago and forgot all about it. Glad I was able to put it to good use!

Oh, and the shoes are new as well. I used to not like wedges on me, but these are cute and so COMFY! They’re my first pair.

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Some unexpected company joined me as well, haha!

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

My major, Journalism and Media Studies, falls under SDSU’s School of Professional Studies and Fine Arts aka the best school on campus! ;)

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Another fun fact: these photos were actually shot over a two-day span. My memory card wouldn’t upload properly, so we lost a big chunk of the photos and had to reshoot. These were taken on day two. Could you tell they’re from different days?

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

In case you’re wondering, my tassel has a 13 on it because I officially graduated in December 2013. However, SDSU has only one commencement ceremony in May, where I will get to “walk” with my fellow grads, whether from class of 2013 or 2014.

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Not only was it hot, but it was super windy as well. This was taken right before my stole smacked me in the face. Haha!

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

While on campus, I had to stop by the KCR studio. I was with KCR for a couple of years, hosting my own radio show and later became the social media director. It definitely helped me get to where I’m at today with Energy 103.7/CBS Radio, so of course I had to show love. Visit KCRlive.com!

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

I also had to stop by the SDSU Bookstore, which is where I had my first job. I’ve met some of the funniest, nicest people around and it’s all thanks to this great place.

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

This was taken from the brand new Aztec Student Union, complete with a bowling alley, gym, and several restaurants. I wish I could have enjoyed it while I was still a student.

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

Can’t have a graduation photoshoot without a picture in front of Hepner Hall! Probably the most recognizable place on campus. That, and Panda Express.

Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

IMG_5410Cyra Velasquez's graduation photoshoot at San Diego State University (SDSU).

It’s been an amazing, crazy, and challenging four years, SDSU! Grateful for all that I’ve learned both in and out of the classroom and the people I have met along the way.

My commencement ceremony is tomorrow, May 16. Although I already have my degree and diploma, being there on stage and walking with the other grads will make this so much more real. Maybe surreal. I don’t know, but I’m super excited. Can’t believe this is it.

Special thanks to my family, especially my parents, and my sister for shooting these photos. Also, thank you to Starbucks for the much needed trenta-sized very berry hibiscus refresher, and to the bees for not stinging me that day.

Congratulations to all grads and GO AZTECS! :)

Leave a reply

